Training schedule

Places on the course are provided on a first-come-first-serve basis. You’ll be invited to the next training programme if the training is full or if your application comes in after the deadline.

The volunteer training will be conducted in English and is free of charge. If you prefer to be trained in Cantonese, you may contact other suicide prevention organizations.

Training Programme Schedule

Spring 2024

Closing Date: February 18th, 2023 (Sun) 11:59pm (HKT)

Session
Date
Time

Information Evening

Wednesday 21st February

7:00pm – 9:00pm

Selection Day

Saturday 24th February

10:00am – 3:00pm

Listening 1

Sunday 3rd March

10:00am – 5:00pm

Suicide

Wednesday 6th March

7:00pm – 10:00pm

Depression & Bereavement

Wednesday 13th March

7:00pm – 10:00pm

Listening 2 / Specific Callers / Interims

Saturday 16th March

9:30am – 3:30pm

Orientation, Service & Administration

Saturday 23rd March

8:30am – 3:30pm

Buddying Period*

Three or more full session by arrangement

* During the buddying period, potential volunteers are required to work with a trained volunteer (buddy) for three or more sessions, exact schedule to be agreed between each potential volunteer and the training manager.

Summer 2024

Closing Date: June 2nd, 2024 (Sun) 11:59pm (HKT)

Session
Date
Time

Information Evening

Wednesday 5th June

7:00pm – 9:00pm

Selection Day

Saturday 8th June

10:00am – 3:00pm

Listening 1

Sunday 16th June

10:00am – 5:00pm

Suicide

Wednesday 19th June

7:00pm – 10:00pm

Depression & Bereavement

Wednesday 26th June

7:00pm – 10:00pm

Listening 2 / Specific Callers / Interims

Saturday 29th June

9:30am – 3:30pm

Orientation, Service & Administration

Saturday 6th July

8:30am – 3:30pm

Buddying Period*

Three or more full session by arrangement

* During the buddying period, potential volunteers are required to work with a trained volunteer (buddy) for three or more sessions, exact schedule to be agreed between each potential volunteer and the training manager.

Autumn 2024

Closing Date: September 22nd, 2024 (Sun) 11:59pm (HKT)

Session
Date
Time

Information Evening

Wednesday 25th September

7:00pm – 9:00pm

Selection Day

Saturday 28th September

10:00am – 3:00pm

Listening 1

Sunday 6th October

10:00am – 5:00pm

Suicide

Wednesday 9th October

7:00pm – 10:00pm

Depression & Bereavement

Wednesday 16th October

7:00pm – 10:00pm

Listening 2 / Specific Callers / Interims

Saturday 19th October

9:30am – 3:30pm

Orientation, Service & Administration

Saturday 26th October

8:30am – 3:30pm

Buddying Period*

Three or more full session by arrangement

* During the buddying period, potential volunteers are required to work with a trained volunteer (buddy) for three or more sessions, exact schedule to be agreed between each potential volunteer and the training manager.